Breaking and of these 4 Washington State weed laws and you can spend some time in jail.
We live in one of two States where recreational marijuana is currently legal on the State level, which gives us this sense of freedom to carry up to an ounce of dried cannabis and smoke in the privacy of our homes. Some people are even pushing the limits of our freedoms by neglecting the regulations and possible citations of smoking outside in public, and lighting up wherever they choose. But when City Attorney Pete Holmes dismisses 100 tickets issued by the Seattle Police Department for public consumption of marijuana, it might be easy to think that we don’t have many limits with our newfound freedoms of a Washington State citizen and we can pretty much do what we please.
But not so fast! There are limits, and they come with some pretty stiff penalties if you break them and are convicted. Here are 4 weed laws in Washington State that can land you a felony and some time in jail.
1. Possessing More than 40 Grams of Dried Cannabis
In Washington, under State law, adults over the age of 21 are allowed to privately possess and consume up to an ounce of dried cannabis. Now, if you possess between 1 ounce and 40 grams (which is close to 1.5 ounces) and are convicted, you must spend at least 24 hours incarcerated (up to 90 days). And here is the real kicker: If you have more than 40 grams of marijuana in your possession and are convicted, you could see up to 5 years behind bars and up to $10,000 in fines.
2. Sale of Distribution of ANY Amount
If you sell or distribute any amount of cannabis with out a retail license, you can be incarcerated up to 5 years and fined up to $10,000. If this sale is to a minor at least 3 years younger than you, then the time of incarceration can be up to 10 years. And you can see double incarceration time and double the fines, if you are within 1000 ft of a school, school bus stop or in a public park, in a public housing project designated as a drug-free zone, or while riding public transportation.
3. Growing ANY Amount of Cannabis
Again, without the proper licensing, growing any amount of cannabis can get you in trouble. A felony of up to 5 years in jail and fines of up to $10,000. Again, just like sale or distribution, jail times and fines can double if you are within 1000 ft of a school, school bus stop or in a public park, in a public housing project designated as a drug-free zone, in public transportation.
4. Possessing More than 40 Grams of Hash & Concentrates
While you can get a misdemeanor by possessing less than 40 grams of hash & concentrates, more than this amount – or manufacture, sale, delivery or possession with intent – can land you behind bars for up to 5 years and a fine of up to $10,000.
Better safe than sorry, right? For more information about these Washington State marijuana laws and penalties, and for other misdemeanors or felonies, check out NORML.
Latest posts by Manic Conrad (see all)
- Kush 21 – Burien’s 1st Pot Shop - December 21, 2016
- Expect pot shops in Downtown Seattle - January 12, 2016
- The vape craze: Smoking vs. vaping marijuana. Is vaping better for you than smoking weed? - January 8, 2016